Fandom Friday: 5 Crossovers I’d Love to See

fandom.5.friday

Remember back in the day when the most OBVIOUS crossover was Dragonballz / Sailor Moon? #neverforget

But in all seriousness, Crossovers can be lots of fun and can blend two series together in  unexpected ways that make great stories. I’ve listed below a few new ideas that leave me fangirling.

1. Gravity Falls / Over the Garden Wall / Steven Universe

Or as Tumblr has come to call it, “The Holy Trinity.” Only SU and OtGW are on the same network, with Gravity Falls airing on Disney but still fans seem to love combining these three in artwork and it has won me over. These drawings mostly show the three protagonists (Dipper, Wirt, and Steven) hanging out but I kind of love it. I know Dipper and Wirt would talk about gnomes and supernatural miss adventures. Steven would probably munch happily on Cookie Cats. I’m okay with this.

2. Frozen / Guardians / The Big Four

Another one courtesy of Tumblr. A while ago, Tumblr fans combined characters from Guardians, Tangled, Dragon, and Brave in what was called The Big Four. Gifs showed the characters interacting in scenes that were amazingly fluid and  told great stories. Recently Elsa from Frozen has joined this crew- often being paired with Jack Frost (Squee!) and Merida has been paired with Hiccup (OTP.) Basically I need this Big Four crossover to be made into a movie- right now!

art via Siquia on tumblr

3. Sherlock / Hannibal

There are a lot of great Sherlock crossovers out there. But I think I’d have the most fun watching Sherlock take on Hannibal. These two along with Will Gram would have a very… interesting relationship together. Plus, we all know it would be beautiful to watch!

4. Pacific Rim / Anything

Maybe that answer is a bit ambiguous but seriously, I will read any fanfiction that is a Pacific Rim crossover. The art showing a Disney / Pacific Rim world is one of my favorite imaginary crossovers but I’d also like to give a shout out to the obvious PR / Godzilla movie we’d all love to see.

art via jiinsy at tumblr

5. Haikyuu / Pokemon

This one a little out there- I know. But I’m also a sucker for Pokemon crossovers and some recent art of the Haikyuu gang as their respected trainers really made me want to see this played out. I think it is also fair for me to say I’d support Pokemon crossing over with anything.

 

banneFofFandomr

A round up of internet things For Fans, By Fans, with the Help of Fans

  1. Last week I listed five of my favorite fan-created words. Now there’s an article on TechInsider discussing how the word “Ship” is becoming more main stream. A word that was often used just in fandoms is being normalized for everyday discussion about two fictional characters people want to see together.
  2. Kickstarter of the Week: Get onboard and help make the newest series of SWAT-KATS! Do you guys remember this show? The creators are trying to give it a fresh new look before bringing it back to television. You can check it out here.
  3. Disney fans are known for their conspiracy theories but a recent Frozen theory might have been confirmed true by the director of the movie.
  4. Do you know about the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) crackdown? Well if you don’t here is a pretty good article detailing exactly what it is and how it will change fanworks. Also, it has FLOWCHARTS!
  5. And finally I’ll end on a joke from The Herald. Why did Harry Potter cross the road? No reason, but someone will write fan fiction about it.
5 thoughts on “Fandom Friday: 5 Crossovers I’d Love to See

  1. I love the idea of Merida with Hiccup. I know he has his girl and I know that one of the big things about Brave was that Merida didn’t need a man, but come on they would be PERFECT together! Also Jack Frost and Elsa #NeedsToHappen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

