Fandom Friday: 5 Famous Geeks I Admire

fandom.5.friday

See? Celebrities are just like us, they harbor powerful emotional connections to fictional characters like everybody else.

  1. Felicia Day

There are a lot of reasons why I adore Felicia Day. She is a beautiful person (inside and out), creative and she produces some of my favorite geek shows. Her work on Supernatural, The Guild, and Geek and Sundry’s youtube channel are all secondary to the fact that she started up a great Book Club and encourages geek women everywhere. Am I gushing? I’m gushing, aren’t I? Maybe I’m laying it on a little thick because I’m reading Felicia’s (hilarious) memoir and it really speaks to my soul. Alright, I’ll stop my gushing before it becomes blubbering (I love you Felicia!)

  1. Ronda Rousey

I didn’t know I was in love with Ronda Rousey until I heard one of her favorite childhood shows was Dragonballz (no surprise there!) She also wore a dragonballz shirt beside the Rock (another hero of mine) in an epic picture that I can’t put into words. Other Geeky habits include being a pokemon fanatic and dressing up like Sailor Moon for Halloween. Ronda is a girl after my own heart because not only is she a total Otaku, but she’s a strong, confident athlete who won’t let people tear her down. I kind of wish she was my best friend.

  1. Stephen Colbert

It should surprise no one that Colbert is a rabid Lord of the Rings fan. His recent photo shoot where he played numerous characters speaks for itself, but one of my favorite nerdy things about Colbert is how he won’t let anyone dethrone his title as LoTR master. You put those young whipper-snappers in their place Colbert.

  1. Robin Williams

It’s pretty obvious that Williams was a huge geek considering he named his daughter Zelda (yes, after the video game). But here are somethings you might not have known: He also liked anime, often talked about Miyazaki, Ghost in the Shell, and Neon Genesis Evangelion. He loved Batman and tried out for variations of the movies and in 2007 he participated in Dungeons and Dragons Day alongside Vin Disel. May his geeky soul rest in peace.

  1. Wil Wheaton

Yeah, the King of the Nerds is on here as well. I am a little late to the “Wil Wheaton is Great” club but nonetheless his Table Top show has given me a new found appreciation for Table Top games I never had, and his shorts on storytelling and D&D make me wish I talented like him.

 

banneFofFandomr

A round up of internet things For Fans, By Fans, with the Help of Fans

1.  Elizabeth Minkel wrote a really insightful piece about the Harry Potter Fandom and how grow-up fans deal with their passion even after the series has ended.

2. Speaking of Harry Potter, the Harry Potter Alliance has started a Fandom is Fair Use Campaign. A campaign designed make the voices of fans heard as politics discuss changing the current Copyright and Fair Use laws.

3.  Fanfiction has evolved a lot over the years but is the newest platform for it… twitter? I learn something new everyday. Here is a piece on Twitter Fanfiction.

4. Time to shamelessly plug Felicia Day’s new book, “You’re Never Weird on the Internet”. If you’re a geek girl, Felicia Fan, or just a fan of memoirs it’s a great read. I’m tearing through it right now.

 

One thought on “Fandom Friday: 5 Famous Geeks I Admire

Leave a Reply

