Fandom Friday: 5 Fandom Deaths That Still Hurt

fandom.5.friday

This was kind of hard for me because I like to avoid things that make me feel things and then kill off characters. Seriously, I’ve done a pretty good job at it too. I like to read and enjoy media to escape reality not be forced to endure things like meaningless death in my favorite fantasy worlds. There is enough of that in the reality. Of course there were some I just couldn’t escape or caught me by complete surprise.

Warning this post will contain death spoilers for the following media: The Hobbit, Avengers Age of Ultron, Lost, One Piece, and Game of Thrones.

Come on, like you didn’t expect Game of Thrones to be on this list.

  1. Charlie Pace (Lost)

Alright, so maybe I started watching Lost because I’ve loved Dominic Monaghan since he played Merry in Lord of the Rings but that doesn’t change the fact that I really enjoyed the show. I especially had a soft spot in my heart for Dominic’s character Charlie because I adore any character named Charlie and he had the most interesting relationship with pregnant single mom, Claire. I’ve never shipped a hetero couple more then I did these two and what happens? They kill Charlie off. Sure he does something incredibly heroic at the end, but the show really wasn’t the same without him. Claire really wasn’t the same without him, the writer’s didn’t even give her a proper moment of mourning. She, along with all the other characters, seemed over it by the next season making it feel like only ones who really cared were the fans. Well, I mourned and wrote fanfiction then mourned some more. Still miss you Charlie.

  1. Thorin Oakenshield (Hobbit)

Oh god I can’t tell you how the death of Thorin Oakenshield scarred me for life. I mean, he was one of the main characters of The Hobbit, the whole quest was so he could reclaim Erebor and then he dies! My little preteen head couldn’t wrap around it. Of course when I watched it in movie form it was ten times worse, and when Bilbo openly sobs about the death… don’t even get me started.

 

  1. Quicksilver (Avengers: Age of Ultron)

Yeah I’m going to complain about this, because it kind of ruined the movie for me. I was sooo excited that the Maximoff twins would be in Avengers movie. There was the whole Avenger’s Quicksilver vs. X-Men Quicksilver and I ended up liking both of them. Petrio and Wanda are some of my favorite comic book characters (mostly because I LOVE the daddy issues they have) and in Age of Ultron he got… well, “Joss’d”. It is a pet peeve of mine when a character dies for shock value and that’s how this one felt. I’m not saying Hawkeye should have died instead but whyyyy Petrio? I’m still a little bitter.

  1. Oberyn (Game of Thrones)

Ah, speaking of death’s with shock value. George R.R. Martin is the King of these. A lot of the deaths in Game of Thrones often leaves me with a knot in my stomach, none more then Oberon. He charmed us all (men and women alike) throughout the season and we cheered as he began to best the mountain, then our cheers turned to screams of horror. What turned into a fun battle scene ended in one of the saddest deaths of the season. And it wasn’t done, as we got to know Oberyn’s daughters in the newest season his absence became even more painful. Oberon you were a cool guy, unfortunately cool guys don’t make it long in the World of Westeros.

  1. Portgas D. Ace (One Piece)

This is probably one of the saddest anime deaths in history guys, I checked! Ace’s death has been number one on numerous lists much like this one. Why was it so sad? Maybe because Ace was one of the most interesting characters One Piece had to offer us (in my opinion.) An awesome guy, a powerful pirate, and a great brother figure for One Piece’s main lead Luffy. What made his death so hard was the fact that it was an act of love to save his brother. It was also completely unexpected as the audience watches our strong protagonist Luffy completely break down.

 

 

banneFofFandomrA round up of internet things For Fans, By Fans, with the Help of Fans

  1. The study of fan culture is hosting their national conference this year in Seattle. Now they have an open call for papers from academics and fans alike. Read here for more information.
  2. This Harry Potter loving teacher wins the internet this week when she turned her classroom into Hogwarts. She explains in an interview how the setting is being used to help motivate and teach her students. Man am I jealous.
  3. The Organization of Transformative Works has named Stub September in which they ask fans to help the numerous stubs on Fanlore. Like Wikipedia, Fanlore has over 1,000 stubs on a variety of different topics. OTW challenges everyone to expand on one of these stubs. For more information click
  4. I always think it is interesting when stars discover fanfiction and fanart of their characters. Sometimes it goes well and sometimes it is mocked endlessly. Unfortunately it seems the latter is true with regards to the actors in Suits.
One thought on “Fandom Friday: 5 Fandom Deaths That Still Hurt

  1. Excellent choices – all really sad 😦 especially Charlie and Thorin, even though I knew the latter was coming from a young age, still sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

