Fandom Friday: 5 Fandom Things I’m Excited About This Fall

fandom.5.fridayTo summarize, this Fall will probably consume my soul and my wallet. It was nice knowing all of you.

1. Fall Anime Season

I don’t think it is a secret anymore that the Summer Anime Line Up has been kind of a disappointment for me, which is why I am really excited for the upcoming season. There are a number of shows that I can’t wait to Binge watch. I will have to carefully pick which ones I’ll want to simulcast watch and which ones will be put off to binge. Right now I am most excited about Haikyuu, Norigami, and One Punch Man.

2. Fall Television

Fall is one of my favorite times for television. There are a few new shows that I’m interested to see if they will be new fan favorites. The Muppets, Scream Queens, American Horror Story Hotel and finally Ash Vs. The Evil Dead. See a trend there? Yeah, I’m a bit of a horror nerd but Muppets should be the bright spot of happy amongst the gore fest. Also, Bob’s Burgers should be starting up soon!

3.  Fall Movies

Everyone knows Fall is one of the best times for movies. Right now I’m counting down the days until I can see The Martian (Oct 2), Crimson Peak (Oct 16), and Victor Frankenstein (Nov 25). Crimson Peak looks like the only true horror movie for the Halloween Season but the book nerd in me is also really excited to see The Martian with its stellar cast and the dark retelling of Victor Frankenstein. What do you know, a movie where they finally realized Frankenstein was the doctor.

4. Fall Books

October promises to be a great month for books, but it will all begin with the end of September when Six of Crows comes out. I have been salivating over the book cover for months, hopefully the story is just as beautiful. After that Carry On by Rainbow Rowell comes out, then the first Black Widow YA novel from Marvel. Finally at the end of the month Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kauffmen. Whew, and that isn’t including the books I’ll be reading for book club. Guess I won’t be leaving the house.

5. Fall Events

And to top this all off in October I’ll be going to New York Comic Con where I’ll be spending all the monies.

 

banneFofFandomr

A round up of internet things For Fans, By Fans, with the Help of Fans

  1. Making national headlines this week was a story about a young Star Wars fan who was being bullied at school because, “Girls shouldn’t like Star Wars.” Fans from around the country sent her letters or moral support that has helped this young fan regain her confidence. I love it when fans come together to help each other.
  2. Media Post wrote about how Television shows can harness the “power of fans” for their benefit.
  3. Transformative Works and Culture Vol 20. is out! This one looks as Fan Spaces like blogs, Fan shrines, Zines, and more! Check it out.
  4. More Star Wars News! With Halloween coming up I would like to point out that Disney has apparently gotten rid of gender identification for their Halloween costumes. 
  5. The Wall Street Journal wrote an article about fan films, a side of fandom that I’m not familiar with and that fascinates me! Read it here to learn more about Fan Films.
21 thoughts on “Fandom Friday: 5 Fandom Things I’m Excited About This Fall

  1. ‘Grandfathered’ & ‘Supergirl’ are another two new shows definitely worth keeping an eye on. Supergirl especially. Being on of the many people who’s seen the leaked pilot,right now it’s looking pretty damn fantastic.

    Like

      • I think’s safe to be ‘SUPER’ excited ;D *is bad at jokes 😅 *
        Melissa Benoist seems to be doing a great job at portraying Supergirl, even if only one episode’s been shown so far
        When it comes to production value,
        Seems to be almost on par with Flash,
        And by doing that I’m assuming even CBS has a lot of faith in the show.
        Now the next superhero show I’m concerned about is Legends Of Tomorrow *is praying that it turns out to be awesome*

        Like

  2. Great list! I’m excited for fall TV and movies, too. I’m surprised at how “silly” Victor Frankenstein looks; I really thought it was going to be much more serious. (Still looks fun, though!)

    Like

    • I agree, but there were some parts in the trailer that looked frightening. I think it’s going more for action / thriller with comedy thrown in, which I’m totally down for. James McAvoy being charming? Sign me up!

      Like

  3. Yay for all of the above! The fall anime lineup looks promising and I definitely cannot wait to see The Martian. Also, go Disney! That’s a big step in the right direction<3

    Like

  4. I’m dying to see Lady Gaga on AHS! Its going to rock!

    On a side note, my name is Christina Clawson, and I’m reaching out to you as a fellow blogger and girl geek. I’ve started a blog and small online shop called Geekyloot.com – and I would love to know what you think of the site. I’d also love to do a blog post about your site or possibly have you write some articles for us and vice versa? There’s never enough good press in the world and I think the only way we really can grow our ideas and spread them is through reaching out to others. If you are at all interested in working with me, I’d love to hear back from you!

    You can respond to administrator@geekyloot.com, or christina@geekyloot.com

    Social Media Links if you’d like to check us out:

    Twitter: https://twitter.com/geeky_loot

    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/geekyloot

    Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/geekyloot/

    Tumblr: http://geekyloot.tumblr.com/

    I look forward to speaking with you soon!

    Sincerely,
    Christina Clawson

    Like

  5. Love this list!!! I agree… Crimson Peak looks like real horror…. I love Tom Hiddleston, and I am fighting myself over the idea of going or not to watch that movie xDDD I guess I’ll end up going to the cinema anyway LOL Ahem ahem
    xoxo
    dePepi.com

    Like

  6. NORAGAMI!!!! YES!!!! I love how the Star Wars fandom helped that girl, and bravo to Disney for getting rid of gender identified costumes. I’m a huge believer in equality and I hate the view of ‘this is for boys’ and ‘this is for girls’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

